Birdieball Putting Green Review

Newtybar

In an effort to solidify my game as fast as possible, I decided to look for a way to practice the short game at home. After about a days worth of research I was surprised to see that accurate putting greens can cost in the high hundreds and even thousands (especially at the size that I wanted). Keyword accurate, I doubt there's a point of practicing putting on a surface that doesn't simulate the real thing with real speed.

Honestly, I don't want to pay that amount right now because I'm fairly new to the sport, in about a year if I'm still into it, I may build something cool in my backyard.

I kept searching and found Birdieball. Their practice balls were well received so I trusted that the putting green would be fairly solid.

Quality: I knew it wasn't going to be of the highest quality, considering I paid $120 for a 13.5 by 4 foot mat. Even though I didn't expect much, I was still underwhelmed when it came. It was literally a foam mat, similar to the material you would find a foam pool floaty to be made of. One side was smooth foam and the other was the side they surfaced to match a green. Without playing it, on first impression, the surface side looked like it would work fairly reasonably, but I had some questions on durability considering the "frizz" was starting to fall off and get all over the floor.

Playability: When I actually used the mat, my buyers remorse went away. The ball speed felt accurate and the rolls felt good. I was also happy that I got a 13.5 feet long one, since a lot of my putts happen at that distance at the moment. A 6-9 foot (the size where I found most others) would have been too short. I have it set up on the patio and can putt while watching the game, while dinner is cooking, play some music and put, basically I can putt almost whenever I want.