Pro V1/V1x, TM TP5/Lethal/RBZ U. ball review

TripleSingle

Hello everyone, newbie here and this will be my first post, although not the first time on WRX.

I've been playing golf since 1989 and played with many different ball brands over the years. I believe that the ball doesnt really start improving your game unless your handicap is 13 or below. Anything above that is ball-striking and your swing. Been playing the ProV1x since it came out in 2003.

I will be doing a review on the 2013 Pro V's and a comparison to the TM balls.

Just some quick info:

7 Handicapper

Swing Speed: 115-119 mph

Driver: Titleist 913 D2, Diamana B Series 60X (1/2 inch tipped)

3 Wood: Titleist 980F, Dynamic Gold S300

Irons: 3-PW Titleist 690 MB, Dynamic Gold S300

Wedges: 56 deg TaylorMade Rac Black, 60 deg Cleveland CG11

Putter: 2003 Scotty Cameron Studio Stainless

To give each ball a fair evaluation and comparison, I played 3 rounds of 18 holes with each ball on the same course.

No trackman numbers here, just based on relativity, observation, and feeling.

DRIVER and WOOD

Distance: Longest to shortest 1) RBZ U. 2) Lethal 3)Tie between TP5 and V1x 4) V1

Feel: Firm to softest 1) RBZ U. 2) V1x 3) TP5 4) V1 5) Lethal

Launch: Highest to lowest 1) Lethal 2) TP5 3) V1 4) RBZ U. 5) V1x

Not surprised here, the V1 is the shortest of the bunch with too much backspin. This is the reason why I ditched the V1 for the V1x back in 2003, and it really hasn't changed. The previous RBZ was the longest ball I've ever hit, and the RBZ urethane hasn't lost any of it.

On AVERAGE the RBZ was 25-30 yards longer than ProV1, and about 15 yards longer than the V1x. The V1 doesn't roll much, and in some cases, the ball moved back. Basically, a draw with the V1 would be the same distance as a fade on the RBZ.

I put the Lethal in second, but its not that much of a different between the TP5 and V1x, probably an average of 5 yards further.