Advice: Choosing Golf Balls

TeeAreNY

I've played a lot of different golf balls and still can't tell the differences and sometimes I think its all in my head. I started playing a year and a half ago but I'm pretty happy with my progress so maybe it's because I haven't been playing that long. I know there are significant differences but I'm thinking of this in general terms.

I've noticed there are about 3 general categories/levels with each manufacturer having their own model(s) for each.

• Cheaper: Nike PD Soft, Titleist DT Solo, Srixon Soft Feel, etc.
  • Mid-Level: Bridgestone E-Series, Srixon Q-Star, Titleist Velocity, etc.
  • Tour Level: ProV, B330, Z-Star, NXT Tour, etc.

I've bought balls in all three categories but I'm starting to think that I may have been wasting my time and money trying out a ball in a category that I shouldn't even be in. Should I just stick with trying out balls in the category that fits my game? I believe I am probably in that mid-level. I'm just trying to narrow down my choices instead of looking at all the shelves lol.

Appreciate your feedback.

Taylormade SIM2 Max | Srixon Z-Star | Cleveland Launcher DST | Mizuno JPX-825 Pro | Titleist Vokey SM5 (54S, 58K) | SC Studio Select Newport 2

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You pose a very good question. There are some low single digit handicappers that say they can use any ball and it will make very little difference in their score. On the other side of that arguement, golfers will tell you that the ball is the only piece of equipment that is used on every swing and it is essential to find the right ball for your game.