Eye Dominance

BRaway1

Does it matter?
My putting has been holding me back for too long now...I'm starting to grab at straws...

I thought I read somewhere that depending on which eye was dominant, that determined what off-set your putter should have (ie flush, 1/2 shaft, full shaft).

Is there any truth to this statement or is completly up to feel?

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I read this somewhere as well, FWIW I switched from a full offset putter, Anser 3 that I had been using for about 15 years, to a Scotty Bullseye with no offset several years ago, my short putting immediatly improved. I am also right eye dominate, my understanding is that if you are left eye dominate you want more offset and if you are right eye you want less offset. I have tried to go back to putters with more offset over the years but I start missing those pesky 3 and 4 footers. To me it makes all the difference in the world when it comes to lineing up to the target line, espceically when you are close enough to think you should make it. On long putts I see no real differnece, in fact on a really long putt offset might make it easier to make a long stroke.

Ping G400 Testing G410.  10.5 set at small -
Ping G410 3, 5 and 7 wood

Ping G410 5 hybrid-not much use.  
Mizuno JPX 921 Hot Metal. 5-G
Vokey 54.10, 2009 58.12 M, Testing TM MG2 60* TW grind and MG3 56* TW grind.  Or Ping Glide Stealth, 54,58 SS.  
Odyssey Pro #1 black
Hoofer, Ecco, Bushnell
ProV1x-mostly

For me even a little offset really throws me off, my advice go to the local golf shop and hit putts with all the center shated or non offset putters you can find, I be you will start making more of the putts you think you should make.

Ping G400 Testing G410.  10.5 set at small -
Ping G410 3, 5 and 7 wood

Ping G410 5 hybrid-not much use.  
Mizuno JPX 921 Hot Metal. 5-G
Vokey 54.10, 2009 58.12 M, Testing TM MG2 60* TW grind and MG3 56* TW grind.  Or Ping Glide Stealth, 54,58 SS.