2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Top 100 U.S. Golf Course.... seekers

[quote name='wingedfoot97' timestamp='1431234607' post='11530816']
I like this thread. A few I have played...Riviera, LACC, Pinehurst, East Lake, Spyglass, Harbour Town, and Pebble.

A few I want to play.... Olympic, Bel Air, Ocean Forest, Yeamans Hall, Congressional, Honors Course, Peachtree, and Pine Valley.

[b]A tip I received and used often is simply asking. The problem/trick is knowing WHEN to ask. Knowing HOW to ask. Knowing a great deal about the club and its history always helps.[/b]

Sand Hills is also on my list. Read they have good Tuscan steaks in the clubhouse too.

I have yet to go to Bandon but will knock that out one day.
[/quote]

Could you please elaborate on the bolded?

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

[quote name='snkstaff' timestamp='1431824867' post='11571412']
So how does someone get on at National golf links of America? Write a letter? I am just beginning my quest to play the best courses. Any tips would be great
[/quote]

Hiya Snkstaff

Best of luck on beginning your quest. You'll find over the time of doing this there will be many obstacles and pitfalls along the way, but sometimes the most welcome surprises will come from places and people you never even thought about!

As for National Golf Links of America, well what can I say about that place that hasn't been said before. It's a very exclusive place and dang near impossible to get on without knowing a member.

I have been very fortunate to have played 29 of the top 100 golf courses based on Golf Digest and I'll share some of my tips with you:

1) Networking. Just getting to know people and fellow golfers. Letting people know what your quest is and over the course of time you might meet someone that knows a friend who knows a friend type of thing.