Switching to cross-handed

AcesAZ

How long before you were comfortable?
We'll I finally came to the realization that I need to switch to cross-handed putting. I've been playing the game for 20 years and have putted normal during that entire span. My problem isn't on the practice green. I putt great when I can hit one after another and the pressure is low. During a round though I will tend to break down my wrists through impact and pull putts. More so under big time pressure. Cross-handed is a great cure to help prevent the break down of the wrists.

So, I'd like to hear some stories from people switching from normal to cross-handed-

How long before you were comfortable?

Do you see an advantage?

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Never! I've tried it a few times and just can not get the hang of it. It's great on short putts but anything over 15' and I have no distance control what so ever. Actually it's horrible! My cure to the same problem you have was to go to a mid size grip. This took out a lot of the handsy moves and I finally got the feel for longer distances.

Left hand low felt about as natural to me as putting blind folded. I might even be better blind folded. Your mileage may vary and it's certainly worth a try.