2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Drewtaylor21's Golf Journey (Swing Changes, WITB, Results)

drewtaylor21

I've been on the fence about starting one of these threads for a while now, but I've had a few people ask me some questions about what I'm working on with Dana Dahlquist and I wanted to give a more detailed explanation, as well as keep somewhat of a running diary of my game. Hopefully this ends up being helpful!

First, some history.

Self-taught from age 14, which was when I got serious about the game, up until January of 2015 when I did a few online lessons with Dan (ITeach). At that time I was living in Utah, finishing grad school and playing in a lot of amateur and club events. 2013 was my first year back in competitive golf since college (graduated 2005), and it was a little bit of a rude re-awakening! I was playing very casually to a scratch handicap at my home course, but my first tourney back I shot 84-81! I played in 2 more events and got the rust off, then managed to qualify for the State Am, as well as one other top 10 that summer in a local event (Salt Lake City has a really great amateur golf season - lots of college and former college players and great public tracks!). Had a lot of fun and ramped up my seriousness about the game. 2014 I had multiple top 10's in amateur events around the area, shot a nice 67 to be one shot off the lead in the first round of USGA Mid-Am Qualifying (then blew up with a 78 in the afternoon round), and finished my summer with a T2 in my club championship, shooting 73-70 to lose by 1. I had 4 penalty strokes over the 36 holes of the CC, which had become a common theme in my game, and at that point I decided I needed to find some extra help to shore things up in my swing and get to the next level in ballstriking. I enlisted the help of Dan over that off-season and we made some nice changes to my swing. Here is a little timeline of progress to that point:

(sorry for camera quality)