high school tryouts

I graduated in '08 and our tryouts were very difficult. Each year all returning players were "unofficially" guaranteed their place on the "12-man roster" if they wanted it. Since we kept 3 per grade, that meant that there were 3 places available for incoming freshmen and only in extreme circumstances were sophomores, juniors or seniors considered for a spot (although last year a single-digit junior tried out and earned a spot on the team due to the weakness of the junior class as a whole). Those 3 freshmen spots were more-or-less filled at the coach's discretion (with input from the captain [me for the last two years- yay!]). The freshmen played 5 days (weather permitting) and the players who were clearly better than the rest were given spots on the team. If all 3 spots hadn't been filled, scores from a randomly chosen day or an average of scores from 6 randomly chosen holes were used to fill out the team. Most of the time it was clear before the season began who was going to make the team. As captain, it was my unofficial duty to monitor all of the summer tournaments in the state that had players that were going to be trying out for the team so that I could give accurate and fact-based advise to our coach as needed. I have binders filled with stats from the last few seasons. The great thing about this system is that it creates a team that is incredibly deep. Our league uses a point system to qualify for our regional tournament and last season, due to our ability to earn lots of points in just a few events, 7 of the 28 players in the field at regionals were from our team. It is definitely a difficult tryout system, but when you have 20 or 30 players trying out for 3 spots, you definitely get to see which guys can play well under pressure.

• 2 weeks later...
  • Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic