10 Finger Grip

mkotthoff

So lets have everyone describe how you postion your hands with your 10 finger grip.

I'm using the hand and finger position that "Slicefixer" describes in his 'Encyclopedia Texarkana'. The only variation is all fingers are on the grip, with hands "packed" together relatively close so that my hands don't end up being spaced much further apart than they were with an interlock. Lifeline of the right hand is on the top/right hand side of the left thumb.

Tell tale positive sign: hands are much less sore after a range session and the callus(sp?)rub marks that I've always hand with the interlock, are not being rubbed/irritated at all. I'm pretty excited about this grip.

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

[quote name='Andyinthewoods' timestamp='1281157137' post='2623903']
Why change what has obviously been working for you?
[/quote]

I'm 15 and I've been playing for about 3 years now. I'm looking to find something that works better (aren't we all). I just don't understand why it's immediately discounted because it's "goofy." I play golf with a 10 finger grip and no glove. Why? I played baseball since I was 3 and it feels natural and I just flat out don't want to buy gloves. But that's apparently "wrong."

I'm not at all against changing (glove or grip) if I'm given a better reason than, "Well there are only a couple of guys on tour who use the 10 finger grip and even fewer who don't use a glove."

It's all very confusing because my mentor's issue with my grip is the fact that my right hand tend to get a bit strong and he thinks that a interlock or overlap would allow me to get a weaker grip (I play Kenny Perry style and he wants me to move to a grip that would allow me to cut the ball easier). Then my instructor feels that for me, a 10 finger grip is the way to go. The difference is my mentor doesn't believe in "eliminating a side" as my instructor does.