2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Drive 400 Distance Program .... my review

I posted a couple of months ago about the impact of starting a stretching workout regimen. Since then I began a more thorough workout regimen "Drive 400" (puredistancegolf.com/drive400) designed by a guy named Rob Harrand who I had come across on another golf-addict site. Rob was a pro pitcher and he made his program known on that site just as I was in the mood to do something to improve my body for golf - or at age 65, at least slow its decline. I have not been active in a gym for decades and it was showing. The price was easy to take a chance on (under $30) so I did.

Fast forward 8 weeks or so to the bottom line. I am hitting the ball the best of my life. I have greater range of motion, am stronger and hit the ball farther and not just longer, but also more consistently. And I am just getting started. My back is stronger (I started carrying my bag again! Yahoo!). I just shot my career best (75 -- +3)

Now, is this all from Rob's program? Who knows? I mean, my swing is getting better and better - those seminal lessons from Monte are still paying dividends. But what I think is my body is now better able to support a better swing.

The program has 3 core parts. Mobility exercises, speed swing exercises and strength exercises. The way I do them, the mobility exercises take the most time (1 hr!); the swing stuff about 15 minutes and the strength stuff about 45. So it's a 2 hour workout the way I do it. I do the mobility about 5x/week and the whole thing 3x/week. Embedded in it are a lot of stuff that improves balance. Your whole body - every joint and muscle group involved in the swing - gets a lot of attention in the mobility part. By the time I am done, I am thrashed! All I can say is, I can't wait to see what the impact is in a year. I'm still in the 'old, out of shape' part of the program - it also has more advanced stuff for people who are ready for it.