2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

What Do You Tell Your Kid After a Bad Range Session?

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

And it is normal for kids not listening. Haven't been to the course to watch my kid swing a club in a couple of weeks. Went last night and this was how the conversation went.

Him: I don't understand why the ball is going to high.

Me: You are swinging too hard from the top down.

Him: No I'm not.

Him: I don't understand why I am hitting behind the ball.

Me: You are swinging too hard from the top down.

Him: This new grip is killing me. I can't hit a green because of it.

Me. Maybe true, but you can't hit a green because you are swinging too hard from the top down.

Get a text from his coach after his lesson. New grip looking good. Range session went well. Went to the course and he started swinging too hard from the top down. Ball would balloon and he would hit behind the ball at times.

I just shook my head. I am not an expert, but there are certain things I can tell because I have seen him swing thousands of times. They hit middle school and you can't tell them a thing because they think they know it all. Frustrating because if they would just listen they could correct within minutes. Middle school kids will try everything they can to be right even if it means doing it wrong to try to be right.