An Eight Club Golf Bag

Sean2

I find myself 'between clubs' often when playing a full set. In addition to keeping the ball in play and making putts, hitting your iron shots close to the hole is the way to score low. So I see both sides...More clubs (full set) gives you the best chance to be accurate. While carrying less clubs is easier (lighter) and gives you a chance to work on different length shots from the same club. I think it is more challenging scoring low with less clubs. A challenge can be fun.

Fun fact: Chick Evans won the 1916 US Open with 7 clubs in his bag. The norm back then was around 20.

15 years later someone asked Bobby Jones what he thought about Evans winning the US Open with only 7 clubs in his bag. Jones’ quote is one of my all time favorites.

“It’s better to be a master of 7 clubs than vaguely familiar with 14.”

I have been using 5 for the last 5 years and have no plans to change.

What five clubs have you chosen?

I will have to experiment a bit to see what works best:

Dr, 7-wood, 6, 8, PW, SW, LW, P, or,

Dr, 3-wood, 5 hybrid, 7, 9, AW, LW, P

Heck, 5 clubs would be grand! Might even try that.

I like having 2 longish clubs and 2 short plus a putter. Right now I go 3h,4I,8I,aw,putter.

That is some precision golf right there.

No ones mentioned it but how many of you would use the driver off the deck ala Fowler style when doing the minimalist bag?

I've done it once but not something I'd plan on doing regularly with my newish big fat driver head..

Some of the older Callaway GBB drivers would be perfect for that role... ;)

I wouldn't use the driver off the deck, but yes with older models you could as they were about the size of today's 3-woods. lol

Fun fact: Chick Evans won the 1916 US Open with 7 clubs in his bag. The norm back then was around 20.

15 years later someone asked Bobby Jones what he thought about Evans winning the US Open with only 7 clubs in his bag. Jones' quote is one of my all time favorites.