Chasing the elusive eagle...

cmdrkean

I started playing golf at age 40 and 25 years later I have not made an eagle. I have had makeable putts, but as a 17 HCP I am thrilled to know I am likely to get a birdie as long as I don't leave it short or blow it by the hole. Probably not the best thoughts to have since I am trying for a good lag and not focusing on sinking the putt.

• Replies 143
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It took me 14 years of playing golf to get my first eagle, which was back in 2009. Since then I've had a total of 6 of them. They were all on par 5's, and with the exception of one of them they were all good second shots that got me within 10-15 feet - make-able putting range.

The exception was one where I had a 30-foot side-hiller that broke at least 4-5 feet, and I really had no business making. I was just trying to get it close, but it went in.

Unfortunately, the current golf club I belong to has par 5's that are difficult to get on in two because they're tricked-up doglegs. Even from the whites you have to be a big hitter to cut the corners, and if you come up short you're OB. So for a guy like me who isn't the longest hitter in the world, the risk outweighs the reward. There's only one par 5 there, #8, that I've gotten on in two. But even that one has a creek about 20 yards in the front, more water off to the right, and trees/hazard off to the left. So unless I crank driver and get myself to a reason angle/distance, I lay up.

Titleist ProV1x
Titleist 915 D2

Callaway Maverik 3W
TaylorMade RocketBallz Stage 2 3H

Callaway Apex '14 3-iron
Callaway Apex Black '22 irons 5-AW
Scotty Cameron Phantom X 5.5
Callaway Jaws (60, 54)

Quite a few on par 5's over the years, nothing too lengthy all under 560 yards. One holed out from greenside bunker.

Only 1 on par 4's, a 457 yards 179 from the fairway with a 5 iron , saw it bounced once and disappeared, guys I played with wants a drink from me.........