Transition to blades

BleederFade

I'm a Newbie to this so lets see how this goes.

After always wanting to play blade irons I finally decided to pull the trigger. During my testing/fitting I made sure to try the Titleist 718 MBs, the Srixon Z965s, and the Mizuno MP18s. Personally I think that the 718s are the best looking blade on the market right now, but as much as I wanted them to work they just didn't perform/feel where I wanted them to. The Srixons were a bit of a sleeper as they produced great results when I wasn't expecting anything special. But the MP18s really are something awesome. They felt unbelievable, produced really consistent numbers, and just plain looked fantastic.

For the past 6 years or so I've been playing the Taylormade TP MCs which are ugly as heck but were great clubs to me. They felt great and really helped me grow my game to where iron play is one of my biggest strengths. But right now is time for something new.

So far my testing / transition to blades has been great. (I have only been able to compare clubs indoors on a monitor so we will see what happens when I hit the course) My distances seem pretty much identical if not a couple yards further (which I was not expecting) and my miss hits are not as bad as I was anticipating. I'm really looking forward to this season and seeing how the MP18s help my game develop further.

If anyone has any stories or experiences with this transition I would love to hear it.

Titleist TSi3 - TPO 70TX

Titleist 917 F2 16.5 - Diamana W 80X

Titleist 718 TMB 2 - MMT 105TX / TSi3 20 - TPW 100TX

Mizuno MP18 4-P - TTDG X100

Vokey SM9 50.12F, 56.12D - TTDG S400

Vokey SM8 60.08 M - TTDG S400

TaylorMade Tour Spider

• Replies 127
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I put the blades back in the bag a couple times a year, and quickly realize on the course that I shouldn't play blades. My performance is noticably better with my player CB MP 54's.

good luck.

Driver: Ping G25