2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Breaking 90 - the "easiest" way?

Z1ggy16

No, this seems like you are training yourself to play golf in a overly conservative way that will never allow you to improve. Also there are many par 4's that you need to carry the ball a significant way to the fairway. What happens if you mis hit one of these shots, or 3 putt, or miss the green on your approach.

Course management is a great way to shoot lower scores but this seems ill conceived. I know plenty of people, who if I caddied for them I could knock 5-10 strokes off their game, but this is NOT how I would approach most holes.

We will have to agree to disagree. I'm sure a good golfer would not manage the course the way I do. When I started playing someone much better than I told me, "golf is a game of choices". Seems to me, at any level, that holds true. I started golfing at age 57 and have never been an athlete. The chances of becoming a scratch golfer are not even in my mind let alone feasible in reality.

I don’t think we are disagreeing. I’m not a long hitter, my point is strategy is very important. I just like this standardized strategy. Each hole is different. Some holes you play safe, others can be attacked.

You want to drop strokes then learn to keep the tee shot in play. Use a driver when it makes sense, use a long iron if necessary then work on your short game. You’ll break 90 quickly.

What I got from the videos was a different way to manage the course when I'm in trouble. I have found splitting a long distance into two shots with the same club is much better option than going for that once in a while great shot. My club for tee shots are pretty much even between driver, 3 wood or 4 iron. A playing partner of mine is starting to use the two equal shots when in trouble and it is helping his game also.

• Replies 230
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic