Aha Moment--Loading Lag/Float Loading

scopek

Hi.

I have rarely had any "aha" or true break through moments. However, I may have stumbled on something that I *think* might really help. I've always been told that float loading the club to gain lag was a no, no and should be avoided because it requires a lot of timing and is difficult to manage. I've also heard and read everything from the idea of "holding lag as long as possible" to "you should NOT hold lag and start a smooth release from the top." As an amateur trying to learn how to have a decent swing, it's mind blowing confusing with all the contradictions. For the first time I started playing around with idea of keeping my wrist soft on the back swing as if I'm dragging the club and then changing directions on the downswing getting that fly fishing or whip type of feel. When I do this, I feel like I "load" the club and then just whip my hands and let it go and release naturally past the ball. It kinda reminds me of what Dufner looks to be doing in his swing. Now I've only been doing 9 to 3's with this but, WOW! Everything started to make sense...I was starting to take divots in front of the ball, I was maintaining and "holding" lag, and my strikes started having that nice "thud" sound. It's early, but I think this is going to work for me. The weird part is, is that i'm not trying to hold lag nor I'm I trying to manipulate anything.

So my question to the forum is: Am I the only one out there that is finding this to work? I know I could get tons of posts on why I shouldn't do this and I have no doubt this wouldn't work for everyone, but I'm curious who finds this helpful. For myself, it really makes a lot of sense on what lag is and that it's not about "holding" lag but using a natural motion in the swing that will create it as a result of another movement so it can then be released at the correct time. I think Bobby Clampett said something about "loading the lag"...That finally makes sense. Thoughts?