Steven's swing journal. High handicapper looking for help.

Hi,

So im from South Africa, I started playing golf mid last year so that's about 9 months of golf, im 26 years old currently a 19 handicap and im fat :)

Ive been struggling a lot with my swing until I found this forum, someone suggested in a post I made about body movement that I watch a video from one of Monte's regarding rotation. So basically after watching it , all I think about is the the trial elbow , this has made me play about 200x's better then I usual do. I've recently been breaking 50 pretty easy again where about a month ago I was playing golf like a 30 handicapper and felt i was getting worst and worst by the week.

So im going to use this journal as a place to document my own swing and try post goals etc. I would love any feedback on my swings.

PS: I know the DTL video's angle is way off, I will get another one done later the week.

Im also not sure if I should record in slomo or normal, youtube has a function to slow it down, but i guess if its even slower it will be easier to spot mistakes?

Ok so im still trying to get the hang of the new swing, im also trying to get more shoulder rotation to get my back facing the target more, also cocking my wrists seem to give me a lot more distance, specially with driver.

Being a fader of the ball, the new swing has mostly taken that away and I tend to pull it more often, however if I do what feels like bringing my trial shoulder down in the downswing it tends to go straight more often.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Just got myself Ben Hogan's 5 lessons, also something that one of the forum members suggested.

I must still get threw it but something I picked up on in the foreword was that Hogan says you should use your leading arm as the "dominant" arm in the swing. Ive always used my trial arm. Will be testing this over the week and see how it goes.