Taylormade P790 Irons

trhode

wondering if anyone could help me understand this better. I was fitted and demoing clubs with swing weight D2. I wound up ordering a custom set from TM and they do not build for swing weight, and they came in C7/C8 of the p790s

What would be the differences in ball flight, and what if anything would be affected?

so i think i am finally getting dialed in with these...2 rounds of low 80s in a row which is good for me.

would my gaps and/or distances change drastically if i have TM fix these for D2?

any benefits i should want from doing this, or is ignoring best decision?

i am pretty new to all this technical stuff, so any advice is appreciated- thanks!

Swing weight shouldn't affect you gapping or distances! D2 is a designated weight of the head or basically how heavy it feels when you swing it! C7/8 is obviously lighter than D2. This is basically just a feel thing, so you can feel the head during the swing! May affect your tempo or transition but won't directly affect gappin and distance

thanks you for the insight.

Question. Anyone having hooking problems with the 790s?

Hard for me to know whats happening. I do play a draw.

Could be the shaft. Could be my new swing.

As for hot spots I haven't experienced any. The odd flyer yes out of the rough.

The black is different but I prefer the standard look.

Use a black Scotty putter as I like as little distraction as possible in a putter.

FORE!

Callaway Rogue St Max (10.5) - Tensei Blue 55 s
Ping G425 5 wood (set @ 16.5*)- Alta CB s
Ping G425 7 wood (20.5*) - Alta CB s
Ping G425 5 hybrid (26*) - Alta CB s
Srixon Z 785 irons A-6 - NS Pro Modus 3 Tour 120 s (soft stepped)
Titleist SM8 54S, 58D
Bettinardi Inovai 6 spud neck /  QB6 

Bridgestone Tour B RXS - yellow
“ 6.3 index and going down!!! 63 years old and going up!!!” Lol

Hard for me to know whats happening. I do play a draw.

Could be the shaft. Could be my new swing.