2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

The secret is

There's no secret to his swing. He hit a fade, and he practiced like hell. Byron Nelson was a better striker than Hogan, and so was Murray Norman, and maybe George Knudson.

I personally feel that Hogan's course management was the key to his success. When other people would gun at the flag, he'd aim safely to allow for better shot selection. He wasn't just a great ball striker, but an excellent thinker, and he played golf courses the way they were designed.

I'm a self-taught 8 handicap, and I don't know course management. If I knew it, I'd probably be scratch or better, because I can strike the ball well enough to play to scratch, and my short game is superior to most (My putting, however, sucks, I have the yips). So if I could learn the course management of a Hogan or a Woods, or even a Murray Norman (He always said good thinking good golf, this is what he meant. Moe's course management was different than most), I'd easily make it to scratch or better.

Hogan played the course, he didn't just work on his swing. In fact he said practice rounds were the best type of practice, because it allowed you to see the course in advance before the tournament started. Hogan really didn't care much about his swing, he cared more about playing golf correctly.