Why Can't I Escape Project X Shafts?

CaseyDan

The Background

I've played this wonderful game for about 4 years. About 2 years ago I started playing 2-3 times a month and now I play about 3-4 times a month. I love the game and the equipment. My handicap just went under 10 to a 9.9 so I am improving and I take about 6 lessons a year.

Over the last 5 years I have been fitted by 3 different companies - Titleist Fitting Center Dallas Golf (2X). At all 3 fitting the Project X 5.5 or 6.0 was one of the top recommendations and two of those times that is the iron I chose. I played good with the Project X 5.5 and had good numbers so no complaints. Just to be clear, I like the standard PX 5.5 - not so much the LZ

The Situtation

Over the last six months I have had the Dynamic Gold bug. I don't know why.

I've tried the following DG's:

• o
  • DG S300 - Not wow enough and a little heavy.
  • DG 105 S300 - Hated
  • DG TI 120 S400 - Gamed these for a while but something never felt right about them.

Currently: I have DG X100 soft stepped 1x in my irons. They are the best feeling shaft I've played hands down. The dispersion is incredible. After 2 rounds, of great scores, I realized that the 4-6 irons were just to heavy so I picked up a set of DG Tour White AMT Shafts in X100 that I have plans to soft step 1x. I tested the DG AMT Tour White straight in at the golf shop and I liked it. All good right?......

Then I stop by our local shop and see the Mizuno Swing optimizer and think "Hey, I have never tried that." I wasn't 100% warmed up but nonetheless here are the results.

What do you know, there is good ol' Project X starring me in the face again. I was glad to see the DG Tour White AMT shafts in the recommendations since I just received a set of them.

The Questions

1) What characteristics in the golf swing is it that Project X gets recommended?