2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Single Plane Swing. Anyone tried it? Graves Golf/Moe Norman..

Got an email about upcoming one day Graves Golf Academy single plane swing school in my area. Always was impressed by Moe Norman, but never thought about trying single plane swing, or Natural Golf, which appeared a similar thing in early 90’s. But I just took six years off from golf due to back injury and surgeries. Hit first balls these last two weeks, feeling optomistic. This single plane reportedley is easy on back, so figured I would at least explore the options further. Thanks for any thoughts.

I studied it extensively and spent a week at the Graves Academy on OKC. It's interesting but not magic. The term "single plane" means different things to different people. To Graves, it means that the club starts on the same plane it is at impact. It does not mean the the club moves on a single plane. His approach has changed over the years, and some of what he teaches is the opposite of what he taught a decade ago. His book entitled, "The Single Plane Golf Swing" is quite good, though.

The technique can be quite good for a bad back if done correctly. It can be quite hard on a bad back if done incorrectly.

I used (or tried to use) a Moe Norman swing for about 10 yrs. Went to a few Todd Graves Golf Schools. That swing took me from being unable to break 100 to around a bogey golfer - but I got stuck there. I have since moved on to a more traditional swing (if you call Brian Sparks traditional...).

So it's a legitimate way to hit a ball and a number of Todd's students have had great success with that swing. But like any swing I think - it's not for everybody.