2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Fan Hit by Koepka's Drive - **MERGED TOPICS**

TheGulag

That's bullxxxx. Spectators assume the risk of being down range on a golf course. It's like standing down a driving range asking to watch from out there. Koepka should not be responsible for that crap.

I doubt she would even sue Koepka. Most likely the tournament organizers.

People cannot sign away or waive basic human rights, it's illegal to even ask someone to do that in many countries (I assume France is one). Her case would just need to be that the tour knowingly put spectators in a position of danger, I believe. I'm not a lawyer but I believe that's what it is

To be honest I don't necessarily disagree. I've posted many times that golf tournaments allow fans to get too close, and someone would actually die one day

But legally someone cannot waive their right to an outcome like being hit hard enough to cause blindness. I don't think so in France anyway. Here we have laws like that

Jeff,

I'm no lawyer either but what "basic human right" would she have signed away or waived by buying her ticket ?

Most tickets for a whole variety of events acknowledge that there may be dangerous situations and the ticket holder hold the event harmless in case of injury.

She's not giving up any rights. She's acknowledging "stuff happens".

Now "negligence" is another story and if anyone can prove that the event should have and could have reasonably anticipated and prevented the event from happening that is another story.

I just read up on Brittany and the NHL did settle out of court but probably did so more for public relation issues than fear of losing in court.

Found this - https://www.law.du.e...5-Augustine.pdf

Didn't read it all but note the part that says "So where does the law stand on this issue? Consistently in favor of the teams, leagues, and/or event promoters. Courts operate under the premise that spectators assume the risk of