2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Practicing in the Winter

kobe123

All,

Fall/Winter is approaching here in Nashville, TN which means less time on the course. I'm trying to get in tip top form for some bigger AM tournaments next year. What are some ways to continue to hit balls/get better in the winter? I contacted Golf Smith to hit on their GC2 but they wanted $20 for 30 minutes which I thought was high. I have debated buying a skytrak.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Kobe123

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I started playing in a winter indoor league on simulators 4 years ago (this winter will be my 4th) and I think it has been the key to my accelerated improvement. First it helped me by keeping the swing going over the winter months, but it also taught me a lot about my game. Learned my true carry distances and collected a lot of data on my swing. I dropped my handicap significantly since I started and once you get used to the sims I think its wicked fun.

I got AstroTurf, nets and a small radar (very poor man's GC2) to hit into. The radar estimates swing speed and distance and I get to hot every night for an hour so. Since I started I've found that my consistency in ball striking has improved so much.

Means I can do a 30 minute warm up prior to my rounds on a Friday and Saturday and I've found myself getting off to fast starts.

Obviously nets aren't ideal but for working on my swing it's been so good. If I have a dodgy round I can spend sometime in the evening figuring out what was off and then move on. Reps are the key for me.

I purchased a Sky Trak and I have seen my scrambling improve a lot this year because that was the majority of my practice time was dedicated to. I also have seen better driving and ball striking this year. I practice 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90, 100 yard shots until I am sick of it. It really showed on the course this year!