Switching Ball for colder weather.

blehnhard

I am a Pro V1x player. Scratch golfer with a driver SS of mid 90's. Got about $50 GC to spend in golf shop and looking to maybe experiment with a different ball for colder weather.

Still want some favorable short game spin characteristics (don't expect as much as the Pro V1x), but maybe some increased long game distance during the winter.

Looking for any and all recommendations.

Current drive is 917 D2 9.5 with Diamana Red S tipped 1/2 inch. Should have in within a couple of weeks Srixon Z785 with HZRDUS Red in stiff. My son with SS in low 100's is getting 15 to 20 yds more off the tee with this driver (HZRDUS Yellow S) than with his 915 D3 with same shaft. I would settle for half that many yards increase.

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It's that time of the year.

I used to play the same golf ball year round, but, finding the low compression golf balls much friendly in the cold Winter days.

Any good 2/3 piece golf ball will be a good choice, just need to adapt to the greenside behavior. One guy I played with love the Srixon Super Soft. Another love the DUO Urethane.

Me, Anything under 80 compression is good to go since the wet condition in the Winter usually don't need a lot of ball spin in and around the greens. A high spinning golf ball probably will perform less than ideal for the bounce and release. I tend to use one type of golf ball for the Winter since there won;t be a guessing game what the golf ball will do under the circumstance.

Most balls spin similarly enough now a days off the driver, that you won't be gaining 15-20 yards all else equal. However, you will lose significant spin around the greens going to a "distance" ball.