Did you see that!?

PorkerPorker Members Posts: 275 ✭✭
Reed touching the sand with his fairway metal on his second shot on the 15th? Unless it’s a different classification in that sand hazard....



Love to hear your view after watching it...
«1

Comments

  • iBanestoiBanesto Niclas Fasth Members Posts: 4,464 ✭✭
    Sand or waste hazard?
  • Mr. HoganMr. Hogan Members Posts: 1,432 ✭✭
    Awesome thread title. So descriptive.
    USGA - Unusually Stupid Governance Association
  • Steele47Steele47 Members Posts: 1,365 ✭✭
  • PorkerPorker Members Posts: 275 ✭✭
    Sand hazard at the Hero, watch his highlights on the tube, sorry... should have given more info in the title..
  • Steele47Steele47 Members Posts: 1,365 ✭✭
    Yea at the Hero. That course has a lot of waste area. Foot prints, tire tracks all over em. You can ground club.
  • PorkerPorker Members Posts: 275 ✭✭
    Aaagh... waste area! All clear now...
  • soregongolfersoregongolfer Members Posts: 1,321 ✭✭
    Isn't that rule changing too? Another one of those "player's intent" things?
  • VindogVindog Don't order the schnitzel. They're using schnauzer! Members Posts: 17,534 ✭✭


    Isn't that rule changing too? Another one of those "player's intent" things?




    Which rule?
    run of the mill driver with stock shaft
    a couple of outdated hybrids
    shovel-ier shovels
    wedges from same shovel company
    some putter with a dead insert and
    a hideous grip
  • JagpilotohioJagpilotohio 45+ inch drivers are evil. Columbus, OHMembers Posts: 7,243 ✭✭
    edited Dec 1, 2018 #10


    Isn't that rule changing too? Another one of those "player's intent" things?




    No. It’s just very important your know if it’s classified as a hazard or a waste area......as DJ knows all too well.



    All the players get a detailed handout about this and any other local rules or oddities about the course before the tournament starts. Whether they read it is another thing altogether.





    Ps. And original poster, edit your title please. It’s terrible. Just go to your first post and hit the edit button.
    9.5* Cobra LTD, Old school Grafalloy Blue, 43.5"
    14* Cally 815 alpha fuji 665 X 42"
    16* Cally 815 alpha fuji 665 X, 41.5" (set to 17*)
    19* Titleist 816 H2 fuji 8.8X TS 40.0"
    4-7 2016 Hogan PTx, KBS Tour V, 120X.  
    Ping i210 8 & 9 Proto 125 F5 hardstepped 1x.
    Ping glide 2 46-12, 50-12, 54-14 (at 55) stealth, Vokey SM6 60M (61). Wedges Recoil Proto 125 F5
    33.5" Ghost spider slant neck.
    Srixon Z-star XV
    Jones Trouper Bag
  • Hawkeye77Hawkeye77 Countdown to The Masters! ClubWRX Posts: 17,883 ClubWRX
    Thread is a waste area.
  • Soloman1Soloman1 Members Posts: 2,462 ✭✭
    Internet is definitely one.
    I'm quitting at 6.022 x 10^23 posts.
    Avogadro would be proud.
  • bladehunterbladehunter Rain rain go the hell away ! south carolinaMembers Posts: 26,659 ✭✭



    Isn't that rule changing too? Another one of those "player's intent" things?




    No. It’s just very important your know if it’s classified as a hazard or a waste area......as DJ knows all too well.



    All the players get a detailed handout about this and any other local rules or oddities about the course before the tournament starts. Whether they read it is another thing altogether.





    Ps. And original poster, edit your title please. It’s terrible. Just go to your first post and hit the edit button.






    At least these bunkers don’t have 100s of people camping inside them . I mean can we just bulldoze whistling straights already ? I’ll never ever get over that. Hate the course because of that. How fans can sit in an actual bunker while a guy plays a shot from it is beyond me. Calling that penalty with that optic took incredible something. I just don’t know what to call it.
    TM Tour M6 11.2 * KK Tini XTS 70X
    TM Tour 17 M1 14.5* Graphite Design ADDI 8x
    Ping G410 21 ADDI 105x 
    Ping Blueprint  3-pw  Modus 130X 
    Ping Glide Forged  54 60 S400
    Cameron GSS 009 1.5 tungsten sole weights, sound slot
  • thevaporzthevaporz Members Posts: 2,913 ✭✭
    Can you take practice swings in waste area? And remove debri and such? I need to checkout the new WRX article on the new rule changes too. I saw you can now do all of that in red stake hazards in 2019. This will save me a lot of wear and tear on my irons being able to clear rocks and debri.
  • McCann1McCann1 Tour Player Members Posts: 1,730 ✭✭
    Did I see what?
    Enjoy the chase.
  • Krt22Krt22 Members Posts: 6,727 ✭✭
    thevaporz wrote:


    Can you take practice swings in waste area? And remove debri and such? I need to checkout the new WRX article on the new rule changes too. I saw you can now do all of that in red stake hazards in 2019. This will save me a lot of wear and tear on my irons being able to clear rocks and debri.




    You always were able to, a waste area is not a hazard
  • lowheellowheel LOWHEEL Members Posts: 6,245 ✭✭
    somebody got a semi at the chance to dunk on reed...
  • thevaporzthevaporz Members Posts: 2,913 ✭✭
    edited Dec 1, 2018 #18
    Krt22 wrote:

    thevaporz wrote:


    Can you take practice swings in waste area? And remove debri and such? I need to checkout the new WRX article on the new rule changes too. I saw you can now do all of that in red stake hazards in 2019. This will save me a lot of wear and tear on my irons being able to clear rocks and debri.




    You always were able to, a waste area is not a hazard




    Thanks. I knew about grounding club but wasn't sure about practice swings. I never knew you weren't allowed to bring your bag into the hazard too. Like no part of your equipment can be grounded in the hazard, right (current rule)? I admit I am ignorant about lots of rules.
  • soregongolfersoregongolfer Members Posts: 1,321 ✭✭
    I thought the rule regarding grounding a club in the sand was changing. I need to look that up.
  • Krt22Krt22 Members Posts: 6,727 ✭✭
    I thought the rule regarding grounding a club in the sand was changing. I need to look that up.




    Nope. You can now ground your club in a water hazard, you can inadvertently touch the sand and remove loose impediments in a bunker, but you still can't ground your club in a bunker
  • thevaporzthevaporz Members Posts: 2,913 ✭✭
    edited Dec 2, 2018 #21
    But next year you can ground your club in a bunker to brace yourself from a fall, correct? I know some older guys at the club will appreciate this new rule for getting into and out of steep bunkers.
  • Steele47Steele47 Members Posts: 1,365 ✭✭
    Also, signing an incorrect scorecard will be permissible as long as you did not feel it.
  • soregongolfersoregongolfer Members Posts: 1,321 ✭✭
    edited Dec 2, 2018 #23
    Krt22 wrote:

    I thought the rule regarding grounding a club in the sand was changing. I need to look that up.




    Nope. You can now ground your club in a water hazard, you can inadvertently touch the sand and remove loose impediments in a bunker, but you still can't ground your club in a bunker




    [background=rgb(239, 240, 242)]2019 Rule: Under Rule 17:[/background]
    • There will no longer be any special restrictions when a ball is in a “penalty area” (the expanded designation for the area that includes what are now called water hazards).
    • A player will be allowed to touch or move loose impediments and touch the ground with hand or club (such as grounding the club right behind the ball) for any reason, subject only to the prohibition on improving conditions for the stroke (see new Rule 8.1a).


    Also, I'm pretty sure touching even one grain of sand is considered "grounding" the club under the old rules. That's what I was getting at initally, but it appears setting up with your club in the sand is okay under the new rules. That I did not know.
  • VindogVindog Don't order the schnitzel. They're using schnauzer! Members Posts: 17,534 ✭✭
    edited Dec 2, 2018 #24
    thevaporz wrote:

    Krt22 wrote:

    thevaporz wrote:


    Can you take practice swings in waste area? And remove debri and such? I need to checkout the new WRX article on the new rule changes too. I saw you can now do all of that in red stake hazards in 2019. This will save me a lot of wear and tear on my irons being able to clear rocks and debri.




    You always were able to, a waste area is not a hazard




    Thanks. I knew about grounding club but wasn't sure about practice swings. I never knew you weren't allowed to bring your bag into the hazard too. Like no part of your equipment can be grounded in the hazard, right (current rule)? I admit I am ignorant about lots of rules.

    thevaporz wrote:


    But next year you can ground your club in a bunker to brace yourself from a fall, correct? I know some older guys at the club will appreciate this new rule for getting into and out of steep bunkers.




    Ignorant? Maybe not. Misinformed? Probably



    You were always allowed to

    - brace from fall or to keep your balance

    - bring equipment into the hazard



    Current 13-4



    Exceptions:





    1. Provided nothing is done that constitutes testing the condition of the hazard or improves the lie of the ball, there is no penalty if the player (a) touches the ground or loose impediments in any hazard or water in a water hazard as a result of or to prevent falling, in removing an obstruction, in measuring or in marking the position of, retrieving, lifting, placing or replacing a ball under any Rule or (b) places his clubs in a hazard.



    And if there is a local rule, you can remove stones from bunkers. Most courses have this local rule in place. It should be on the scorecard.
    Post edited by Unknown User on
    run of the mill driver with stock shaft
    a couple of outdated hybrids
    shovel-ier shovels
    wedges from same shovel company
    some putter with a dead insert and
    a hideous grip
  • VindogVindog Don't order the schnitzel. They're using schnauzer! Members Posts: 17,534 ✭✭
    edited Dec 2, 2018 #25

    Krt22 wrote:

    I thought the rule regarding grounding a club in the sand was changing. I need to look that up.




    Nope. You can now ground your club in a water hazard, you can inadvertently touch the sand and remove loose impediments in a bunker, but you still can't ground your club in a bunker




    [background=rgb(239, 240, 242)]2019 Rule: Under Rule 17:[/background]
    • There will no longer be any special restrictions when a ball is in a “penalty area” (the expanded designation for the area that includes what are now called water hazards).
    • A player will be allowed to touch or move loose impediments and touch the ground with hand or club (such as grounding the club right behind the ball) for any reason, subject only to the prohibition on improving conditions for the stroke (see new Rule 8.1a).


    Also, I'm pretty sure touching even one grain of sand is considered "grounding" the club under the old rules. That's what I was getting at initally, but it appears setting up with your club in the sand is okay under the new rules. That I did not know.






    I don't think those are accurate. Here is new rule:







    b. Restrictions on Touching Sand in Bunker



    stroke at a ball in a bunker, a player must not:
    • Deliberately touch sand in the bunker with a hand, club, rake or other object to test the condition of the sand to learn information for the next stroke, or
    • Touch sand in the bunker with a club:







    Red results in penalty.
    run of the mill driver with stock shaft
    a couple of outdated hybrids
    shovel-ier shovels
    wedges from same shovel company
    some putter with a dead insert and
    a hideous grip
  • soregongolfersoregongolfer Members Posts: 1,321 ✭✭
    edited Dec 2, 2018 #26
    Vindog wrote:


    Krt22 wrote:

    I thought the rule regarding grounding a club in the sand was changing. I need to look that up.




    Nope. You can now ground your club in a water hazard, you can inadvertently touch the sand and remove loose impediments in a bunker, but you still can't ground your club in a bunker




    [background=rgb(239, 240, 242)]2019 Rule: Under Rule 17:[/background]
    • There will no longer be any special restrictions when a ball is in a “penalty area” (the expanded designation for the area that includes what are now called water hazards).
    • A player will be allowed to touch or move loose impediments and touch the ground with hand or club (such as grounding the club right behind the ball) for any reason, subject only to the prohibition on improving conditions for the stroke (see new Rule 8.1a).


    Also, I'm pretty sure touching even one grain of sand is considered "grounding" the club under the old rules. That's what I was getting at initally, but it appears setting up with your club in the sand is okay under the new rules. That I did not know.






    I don't think those are accurate. Here is new rule:







    b. Restrictions on Touching Sand in Bunker



    stroke at a ball in a bunker, a player must not:
    • Deliberately touch sand in the bunker with a hand, club, rake or other object to test the condition of the sand to learn information for the next stroke, or
    • Touch sand in the bunker with a club:







    Red results in penalty.






    Here's where I got it. Maybe these USGA guys don't know anything about the rule image/wink.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=';)' />

    http://www.usga.org/...or-changes.html
  • VindogVindog Don't order the schnitzel. They're using schnauzer! Members Posts: 17,534 ✭✭
    edited Dec 2, 2018 #27

    Vindog wrote:


    Krt22 wrote:

    I thought the rule regarding grounding a club in the sand was changing. I need to look that up.




    Nope. You can now ground your club in a water hazard, you can inadvertently touch the sand and remove loose impediments in a bunker, but you still can't ground your club in a bunker




    [background=rgb(239, 240, 242)]2019 Rule: Under Rule 17:[/background]
    • There will no longer be any special restrictions when a ball is in a “penalty area” (the expanded designation for the area that includes what are now called water hazards).
    • A player will be allowed to touch or move loose impediments and touch the ground with hand or club (such as grounding the club right behind the ball) for any reason, subject only to the prohibition on improving conditions for the stroke (see new Rule 8.1a).


    Also, I'm pretty sure touching even one grain of sand is considered "grounding" the club under the old rules. That's what I was getting at initally, but it appears setting up with your club in the sand is okay under the new rules. That I did not know.






    I don't think those are accurate. Here is new rule:







    b. Restrictions on Touching Sand in Bunker



    stroke at a ball in a bunker, a player must not:
    • Deliberately touch sand in the bunker with a hand, club, rake or other object to test the condition of the sand to learn information for the next stroke, or
    • Touch sand in the bunker with a club:







    Red results in penalty.






    Here's where I got it. Maybe these USGA guys don't know anything about the rule image/wink.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=';)' />

    http://www.usga.org/...or-changes.html






    Well yeah, I mean I got mine from the same place. But maybe we are talking about two different things, with both being correct: No you can't ground your club at address (if that's what you meant by setting up) but yes you can touch the sand while removing LOs.
    run of the mill driver with stock shaft
    a couple of outdated hybrids
    shovel-ier shovels
    wedges from same shovel company
    some putter with a dead insert and
    a hideous grip
  • PorkerPorker Members Posts: 275 ✭✭
    Sorry guys...clicked on full editor to beef up my heading but it won't open.
  • PorkerPorker Members Posts: 275 ✭✭
    GGeneral area is a new term that replaced 'through the green' down here in Australia, this area covers everything except tee, bunkers,penalty area and green. Assuming it's the same in the US? So waste areas would fall under penalty areas? And would the same relief procedures apply?
  • PorkerPorker Members Posts: 275 ✭✭
    edited Dec 3, 2018 #30
    lowheel wrote:


    somebody got a semi at the chance to dunk on reed...




    I like my bad boys in golf... Phil, Reed, Bubba, Sabatini, those you wanna see crumble and fall apart or want to see win against the odds, that's why I watch golf, it's like watching a thriller unfold and something to relate to at the same time.
  • VindogVindog Don't order the schnitzel. They're using schnauzer! Members Posts: 17,534 ✭✭
    Porker wrote:


    GGeneral area is a new term that replaced 'through the green' down here in Australia, this area covers everything except tee, bunkers,penalty area and green. Assuming it's the same in the US? So waste areas would fall under penalty areas? And would the same relief procedures apply?




    Yes it's the same for US, but no... waste bunkers would be in the general area, so the restrictions for penalty areas would not apply.
    run of the mill driver with stock shaft
    a couple of outdated hybrids
    shovel-ier shovels
    wedges from same shovel company
    some putter with a dead insert and
    a hideous grip
Sign In or Register to comment.