2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Are the equipment companies killing golf?

bkloess

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I've been playing this game since 2000 and it's always been like that every year will all of the OEMs. The first 4 or 5 years of me playing there were real gains in technology driver wise as OEMs were approaching maximum COR and 460 CC clubhead size and that impressed me since one can truly gain more distance. Once both were achieved, the gains were marginal and every year the OEMs had to figure out a way how to repackage the wheel and convince you it's the latest and greatest.

To me there were pretty much zero gains in iron technology. The only thing that changed is that the lofts are getting stronger and sets are now being sold from a 3-PW to a 4-GW with hybrids filling the distance gaps. I wouldn't be surprised if 5-SW sets will be the norm 10 years from now.

10.5 deg Titleist 905R with stock UST Proforce V2 Shaft (Stiff flex)
Titleist 990 (3-PW) with stock Dynamic Gold in S300
Taylormade V-Steel 5W & 3W with Grafalloy Prolaunch Red shafts (Regular Flex)
2011 Adams Tom Watson signature wedges in 52 and 56 degrees with stock steel shafts (Player's Grind)
Rife Island Series Aruba Blade Putter

"Loft for loft, length for length, and shaft for shaft, the ball will go the same distance when hit on the sweet spot regardless how old the iron."