2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Is Bent Grass Becoming Obsolete?

...at least south of the Mason-Dixon line

Let me preface by stating that being from NJ I love bent greens and generally prefer them over other grasses. Still, I've really been impressed with the improvements/advancements in the newer strains of Bermuda in the past 10 years.

I'm in the process of moving to FL from NJ, staying for about 1 week in Greenville, SC before heading down to South FL. Played Furman U course today and the Bermuda greens (newer strain) were exceptional despite nearly 2 inches of rain overnight. I've also played on some surprisingly fast and smooth surfaces at a number of clubs in FL including Tequesta CC, Fox Club, and Medalist. All stimped faster than 12 with no real grain to worry about.

I'm told Bermuda is generally less expensive than Bent, but I'm not an expert. Either way, agronomy has come a long way since I started playing in the early 90s and i would not be surprised to see places like Augusta National eventually switch over to these newer strains of Bermuda.

Thoughts?

While I still think a pure bentgrass green is the best putting surface, but the vast majority of the local tracks I play in metro ATL are migrating to these hybrid Bermuda greens. The change in some cases has been incredibly better. One such case is my home course. It's little dinky semi-private with a quirky layout thru a residential neighborhood. The new greens totally changed the course and made it a lot easier to overlook the layout. With bent greens we had maybe 4 month of ideal conditions and 3 months the heat and traffic made them less than desirable.

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic