Went from Eye 2 to G25 - everything goes to the right ??

markfrid

My first post. Thanks for the great forum.

I've been playing Ping Eye 2's since 1990. Ridiculous, I know. I'm now 64 and the stiff (zz lite) shafts are wearing on me. I can still swing them hard enough, but its work. What a sissy, eh? Ha-ha! I bought some used g25's with stock TFC 189 R-flex shafts and have played them half dozen rounds and I'm fighting the Rights something fierce. Push-fades. I like the feel of the graphite shaft and the way they hit the ball, but I can't control the fades. I'm starting to really dislike them. Played the last round with my Eye 2's as an experiment. Back to straight. Both are black dot lie. I laid a 7 iron from each set on the wood floor and lined up the soles with the lines on the floor. The shafts were within 1/8" of being parallel. I concluded the lie was the same. Wrong?

I'd like to go to a graphite shaft because it feels better on my old hands when I hit. My 150 yard carry with my Eye 2's is a 6 and with the g25's it's a solid 7. From things I've read (you can read anything on the internet) that puts me in the R-flex camp. I guess what I'm saying is I'm looking for something graphite that doesn't go right on me. I haven't been fitted. I maybe should?

Thanks for your help!

Mark

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic