2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

My True Spec Custom Fitting Experience

Stetson1887

Note: I’m not going to get too much into the numbers but focus more on the experience

I’ve been swinging the same clubs for 6 years.

Driver: Callaway mini driver; 43” Mitsubishi shaft

3 wood: Mizuno with an extra stiff unknown shaft

Hybrids: 3,4, and 5 Callaway with stock shafts but all different bend profiles and frequencies

Irons: AW-6 iron with KBS c-taper lite shaft

Over those 6 years I’ve seen my handicap drop from a 15 to a 10. The better I became, the more I felt like I was fighting my clubs. Additionally, my game has really stalled at a 10 handicap with driver inconsistency and missed GIR being the main contributor to my lack of progress (data derived from my Arccos app). Before my upcoming 12 month deployment, I thought it would be cool to get custom fit while i still have a consistent swing, and then, at the end of 12 months, reward myself with a nice gift. I’ve went through a fitting before at Club Champion in Atlanta and did not enjoy the experience at all. At the conclusion of that fitting, i felt rushed, confused, and convinced my fitter was a sociopath (I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt and just say he had a bad day).

My closest True Spec fitting location is in Pine Needles Golf Club near Pinehurst, NC. Pine Needles is a beautiful private golf club with an immaculate practice facility. After checking in, the greeter took me and my clubs to a separate 200 sq ft building on the practice facility where I met my fitter, Ryne. True Spec at Pine Needles uses a indoor to outdoor facility with trackman (complete with heater thank the heavens because it was about 50 degrees). We spent about 5 minutes discussing my goals. I narrowed it down as follows:

-I no longer wanted the sensation of fighting my clubs

-I wanted to ensure my distance gapping was correct as we were doing a full bag fitting