Callaway Rogue SZ vs. Callaway Epic Flash SZ Updated

CaddiesFault

Hey all,

Here is my first test of the Epic Flash SZ, using the Foresight GCquad. Please note that this is my first time swinging the Flash, and I do not have it as well tuned to my swing as I do the Rogue SZ, which I have been using for a year. I used a Chrome Soft X for both Drivers, and got a solid warmup with my irons beforehand, so I was fully warmed up for both Drivers.

I also used the same shaft on both clubs, Diamana Kai'li (blueboard) 60s real deal shaft, 43.5". I had the Flash slider in a neutral setting. For reference I am 5'7 150lbs, 32yrs old.

Here are some side by side pics of the 2 for starters:

So here are my first thoughts on the Flash SZ compared to the Rogue SZ. Note that some of these are my personal opinions, and may not be the same as others:

1. The face is taller, and the head looks smaller at address. It comes with a 12g slider and 2g front weight, which was far too light. I put in a 14g and 20g slider.

2. I hit everything off the heel until i started lining the ball off the toe. Didnt have to to that with the Rogue but ill probably get used to the new stick and wont have to do that after awhile.

3. The ball launches much higher. I had my Rogue SZ 9.0 set to +1 to get my apex height in the mid 30s. I used the same settings when i started with the Flash and the apex was high 40s with a dynamic launch nearing 20*!!! You will see that in the spreadsheet below I ended up testing the Flash at 9* and it still had a higher apex than the Rogue at 10*, albeit a little lower.

4. My AoA was even higher with the Flash, but that could be due to the different look of the head I had it a little farther forward in my stance, not sure.

5. My Ball & Club Speed were each up 1MPH, but because I dont have it tuned perfectly yet, the ball went higher, not necessarily farther, due to increased launch and spin rate.