2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Maltby DBM Iron Set Build + First Impressions

kleydejong

Introduction

I am going to document my recent Maltby DBM build. I am a pretty inexperienced club builder, so this is more of a 'learn from my mistakes' or 'tell me how to do this better next time' rather than a 'this is how you should do it' type thread.

I started with a M+ 54* wedge last fall and it has served me really well. I fell pretty hard for the DBM finish. I've found it to be very durable and I have always loved a black or raw finished iron. Then my research on the DBM / TE heads seemed to show that they're proven to be a solid design. The thin top line and minimal set offset combined with just a touch of cavity back forgiveness sealed the deal.

For this thread I'm putting together a set of 5-PW irons. Let's get started.

Purchase

I tried to be fairly frugal with this build. I started with shafts and kept my eye on eBay for a little while. The 6-PW came from a nice set of pulls with Golf Pride Tour Velvets already installed - a nice bonus. The 5 iron shaft came from a set of Mizuno T-Zoid Pro II irons that I use to beat balls on the range. Perhaps I'm taking a bit of a risk by using old shafts from pulls or iron sets that might be near 20 years old. We'll find out.

I got the 6 iron head as a gift for Christmas and then purchased the 5, 7-PW myself new from Golfworks. I selected the Maltby collared ferrule MA0300 as well.

First reaction is that they're stunning iron heads.

39738425203_574490bfd6_o.jpg

I bought some Gorilla branded epoxy at my local hardware store for $5.

Total estimated cost:

Shafts - $30

Heads - $165

Epoxy - $5

Ferrules - $5

Total - $205

The Build

All my raw materials ready to go.

39738421793_07896df6e7_o.jpg

39738420833_cd558dfc43_o.jpg