2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

Does interest in golf ever fade away?

g8tor20

Breathing life into an old thread here. I play for fun and usually only a serious betting round once every two months, just depends on the available players. If that stays the norm, will never stop playing. Going the DINK route so golf will be my hobby for as long as I can play it. Want to join a club eventually, just need to find the right one after I buy a home.

I've been playing for about 24 years now. Ya know how I can tell my interest hasn't faded yet? Because I live in NY, and we're forced to take a few months off every year for the weather. And during those months off I go nuts wishing I could get out and play golf.

In some ways the forced break is a good thing. I imagine it keeps me from burning out.

Titleist ProV1x
Titleist 915 D2

Callaway Maverik 3W
TaylorMade RocketBallz Stage 2 3H

Callaway Apex '14 3-iron
Callaway Apex Black '22 irons 5-AW
Scotty Cameron Phantom X 5.5
Callaway Jaws (60, 54)

Yes. For me the bar was always to work hard and compete, give myself a chance to roll a few good rounds into a shot at making some real money as a pro for a brief period of time. But as I get older, the odds get longer. I play golf for competition and at a certain point it get's harder and harder to compete. Now with work, family, bills... Less and less friends who are as serious about the game... Having to pay adult prices for golf equipment and lessons... Trying to get time on trackman or flightscope... It's almost impossible. So I ask myself what's the point?

Also the structure of Pro Vs. Am status in golf makes it very difficult for a really good am to work hard, have a great few weeks that rolls into a good year and potential tour status. I would be much more inclined to stay with golf in the future if there were no lines between pro and am status and am's were allowed to win substantial money. Like poker, or bowling.