2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Kleydejong's WITB Shenanigans

Hey guys, I got back into golf more heavily this past summer after taking a few years off due to school and kids. My set was a bit aged and I hadn't really made any club changes for a few years.

30917276698_a2d2754765_o.jpg

TaylorMade SLDR

Callaway 2004 Big Bertha 5 wood

Titleist PT 585 21* Hybrid

Ping G25 4-PW irons

Vokey Spin Milled 52*, 56*, and 60*

Scotty Cameron Pro Platinum Newport Mil Spec 34"

I started playing and practicing a lot more in July and August. Brought my 9 hole average score down from about 40 to about 38 including a career best 33. Amazing what can happen when you can spend even a little bit of time with a club in your hands every day.

Consequently I got the equipment itch. First I decided to sell the Ping G25's. I hit them fine, but they didn't inspire a lot of confidence with the thick sole and top line. I sometimes felt they didn't get into the rough well. Having taken a break a lot of my recollections on equipment are about 10 years old now, so I started pining over some of the old Mizuno iron offerings that I always remembered lusting at when I was in High School. I always dreamed of owning a set of Mizuno blades. Good news, a lot of those old sets are super cheap on eBay these days!

I picked up a set of Mizuno MP-57's for $60. Loved the feel and found they weren't that hard to hit compared to the Pings on the 6-PW or so. Then I impulsively bought another set of Mizuno MP-14's for $65. Yikes. They're nice to look at and in good shape. The lofts are a full one club weaker compared to the prior Pings and about a half club weaker to the MP-57's. But I really enjoy having them in the bag. So I'm currently going to tinker with a mixed set. I grabbed some cheap hybrids and built a 54 Maltby M+ wedge as well to help space the lofting.