2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Why are graphite irons no longer popular

Lamb

Is there any statistically significant data from Club Champion or any other nationwide fitter or retailer?

Personally I'm 100% on board with graphite iron shafts. They can be engineered to almost any bend profile desired whereas extruded steel tubing is limited to step patterns. Until 3D printed steel shafts are commercially viable, engineered graphite provides design advantages.

Since I work as a fitter for one of the world's largest golf retailers (Golf Town) I think the data I posted on #28 above woild be close to the N. American average. Not every one is a +2 who needs X100 or PX 6.5 shafts.

Club Champion Custom Callaway AI Smoke 11*, Aldila Ascent 40 Gram, A Flex

Srixon F45 4-wood, 17*, Kuro Kage 606 S
TXG Custom  SIM Max 7-wood, Accra FX 140 2.0 M2

TXG Custom Cobra Tech 5-hybrid, KBS TGI 75 R
TXG Custom PXG 0211 6-pw, 1* upright, Recoil E460 R
PXG 0211 GW, 50*, (new version), UST Recoil Dart R
TXG Custom Cleveland CBX 54*, Tour Issue DG Spinner 115 

Ping Glide 4.0 58*, Nippon 115 
TXG Custom Cobra Nova, KBS CT Tour Shaft

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Steelfibers were my best change of 2018. Used them the whole season and plan on using them for 2019. Forces me to focus on tempo and transition. Bad tempo and transition I found were punished by more of a pull or hook over heavier steel shafts.

And this is a good thing? I think I play heavier steel shafts for the exact opposite reason you play graphite. If you can handle the extra weight, there is literally no downside to steel. Heavier is almost always better.

Steelfibers were my best change of 2018. Used them the whole season and plan on using them for 2019. Forces me to focus on tempo and transition. Bad tempo and transition I found were punished by more of a pull or hook over heavier steel shafts.