WHAT'S YOUR HIDDEN GEM? Submit your favorite "hidden gem" golf courses (less than $50)

Course Name: Hominy Hill Golf Course

City, State: Colts Neck, NJ

Price Range: $30-45 Residents (Over $50 for Non-Residents)

Course Website: http://www.hominyhill.com / https://www.monmouthcountyparks.com

​Brief Description: For a course that's part of a county park system, its meticulously maintained with fast greens but also provides penalizing rough. It's designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr. and is just a classic beautiful parkland design. There's no "gimmicky" holes and a great course to walk. It's an absolute steal for residents but still worth the price for non-residents. It may not be a hidden gem for golfers in New Jersey, but probably is for anyone outside the state considering its location in the suburbs and away from the most popular tourist areas in the state.

I agree and it is well maintained. I make it a priority to play it every year and I am a non resident! Great track.

I have to disagree with this recent installment of Harvest Hill having the best set of par 5 holes in New York, both public and private. That is a pretty significant statement to make. It certainly is not the best set of par 5 golf holes in this area, at least in my humble opinion. While I do like the golf course, good luck playing in under 5 1/2 hours on a weekend. It just is not happening.

In my opinion, The Highlands of Elgin Golf Course is one of the best public golf courses in the Chicagoland area. It's a great links style course with a decent amount of slope (which is almost impossible to find in Chicago). From the back tees, there are par 4s ranging from 310 yards to 470 (with a 260-270yd forced carry) and par 3s ranging from 140-240. The greens are also very fun as they have a nice amount of undulation and are well maintained. In my experience there, the greens usually run at about a 10 on the stimp.

• Course Name: ColoVista Golf Club
  • City, State: Bastrop, TX