Ever totally surprise someone else with a fabulous shot or awesome round?

SixtySomePing

Way back when I was a 25 hcp I played with this group, and they weren’t great either but weren’t 25s. So we had to “splinter off” a little bit, meaning everyone just went to their balls and we played ready golf, etc. I hit a decent tee ball and then a beautiful 7i approach to a few feet but no one was watching the shot. Later, one of the guys looked at the other 2 and said “Wait, who’s ball is that next to the pin?” I just smiled and said “I know it’s hard to believe, but it’s mine”. They said “Oh, wow, good shot”. ?

Ha...I remember the very first time I played with this guy at work. It was probably about 2.5 or 3 years after I started playing so this was maybe 6-7 years back. I sat across from this hilarious guy who was always talking smack to somebody. Don't get me wrong, he was hilarious but he'd always rib everybody. Back then, it was he and I (both Clemson guys) who'd go after the 3rd office mate who was a Gamecock. At the time Clemson had lost 4 straight to USC so it wasn't the best time. Good lord, I'd give anything to be a fly on that wall after the first National Championship. That probably would've been up there as one of my best days at work ever. Oh, man.

But I digress...this guy and I go out to play at the local muni. He's talking smack telling me how I'm going to choke and all that. I kept telling him I was decent. Well, I must've played somewhat solid because at threw up a 75 that day. We played a lot thereafter. I never matched that score but it was definitely good to do that the first time out. Man, that guy was priceless if you could laugh at his ribbing.

TSR3 (9o) (Graphite Design Tour AD IZ-6)
TSR2+ (14.5o 3w) (Graphite Design Tour AD IZ-7)

TSR2 (21o 7w) (Graphite Design Tour AD IZ-7)

zU85 (4-6) (UST Recoil)
Z-Forged (7-Gw) (Nippon Modus3)

SM9 56-F / 60-S
Maltby PTM-5CS