2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Early extension (Goat Humping)

the arms shallow but the shaft is still steep. if you didn't stand up you'd stick it in the ground before the ball. i'm not an expert, but on the takeaway looks like you fan the face open. keep the face looking at the ball longer, and get the face more square to slightly closed on downswing. you can then just rotate through without the need to use hands to flip the club shut

I was looking at my swing last night and noticed that on the backswing the club face is almost vertical when the shaft is parallel to the ground. I've seen conflicting views on this in all the youtube tutorials I've watched, but I don't think it would hurt to try to experiment with having the club face match the spine angle (more closed) when the shaft is parallel.

Thanks!

Once you fan the club open then you have to manipulate the club face on the way down to square it back up at impact.

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Interesting thread. I've struggled with goat humping for quite some time, and maintaining posture is clearly the solution. Early extension is a loss of posture, after all.

The "left shoulder low" concept seems like a viable feel for maintaining posture. I've seen the "crunch" move discussed before, but that didn't really resonate the same way.

Since low point control is something I've always struggled with as well, it seems like this might be a good thing for me to work on. Gonna have to fiddle around with it during the spring warm up.

Cleveland Launcher HB 10.5* - Stock Miyazaki C. Kua 50 Stiff
Callaway Diablo Octane Tour 13* - Aldila NV 75 Stiff
or
Callaway Diablo Edge Tour 15* - Accra Dymatch M5 75
Mizuno F-50 18* - Stock Stiff
or
Callaway Diablo Edge Tour Hybrid 21* - Aldila NV 85 Stiff
Callaway RAZR Tour Hybrid 24* - Stock XStiff
5 - PW Cleveland CG7 Tour Black Pearl - DGSL S300
Cleveland 588 RTX Rotex 2.0 50* DG Wedge
Cleveland 588 RTX Rotex 2.0 54* DG Wedge