An observation on shorts on the PGA Tour

dalehead

When I started playing 30 years ago, if I wore my golf attire off course people would ask, "Did you just play golf" or "Are you going golfing".

Today, wearing essentially the same apparel, people ask me if I have a "casual dress code at work", or "no longer need to wear suits". Golf is never mentioned.

Fashion changes with time...no one is suggesting tank tops and speedos for golf...but the current "pro" look is really dated, IMHO.

• Replies 91
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Put me in the "who cares" camp. This is just a silly season topic. Maybe golf should still be played with hickories while wearing a wool suit. Wouldn't that be enjoyable?

I can see people being put off if their lawyer showed up to work in shorts, but this is a sport FFS. Get over it.

Titleist TS3 w/ Even Flow White
M1 w/ Diamana Thump
M4 Tour w/ Kuro Kage TiNi
GAPR w/ KBS Tour Proto
Srixon Z-765 w/ PX LZ
Vokey 46° 
Hi-Toe 52° & 58°
Bobby Grace Tour Diamond 3

Put me in the "who cares" camp. This is just a silly season topic. Maybe golf should still be played with hickories while wearing a wool suit. Wouldn't that be enjoyable?

I can see people being put off if their lawyer showed up to work in shorts, but this is a sport FFS. Get over it.

Unless it's Ron Laflamme ; )

MeagerFittingAlpaca-size_restricted.gif

Unless it's Ron Laflamme ; )

MeagerFittingAlpaca-size_restricted.gif

If Ron was your council you deserve whatever comes your way lol

M1 w/ Diamana Thump
GAPR w/ KBS Tour Proto
Srixon Z-765 w/ PX LZ
Vokey 46° 
Hi-Toe 52° & 58°

Hopefully your 10 year old doesn't try to get a job in tech... I won't say I've ever not hired someone because they were in a suit, but if we say business casual and you show up in a suit, I'm not sure that your listening comprehension is all that strong.