2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Players who went from 4 wedges back to 3, why?

gentles

I've had 3 wedges at times but it's been a while. For me its less about loft and more about grind and what I use the club for.

My pitching wedge is essentially just a short Iron for me (I hit it about 140+) so I'm not sure if you'd really consider it a "Wedge." I have a set GW that's 50 degrees that I use on full shots and knock down shots closer to the green. My 54 Vokey has C-taper shaft and an "S" grind so it's used pretty much the same as my Gap wedge. For Pretty much everything else I use my 58 as the grind means I can position the face just about anyway I want.

• Like 1

I've bounced back and forth over the years--mostly as a function of what I'm doing at the longer end of the bag.

Typically it's a choice involving whether or not to carry multiple clubs under 20-degrees (i.e 3w & 5w). The more I play however, the less I feel I need to do that. So I've gone back to using 4 wedges this year. I'm either going to carry a single 4w or simply ditch the fairway altogether and throw in a 2-iron to match my set for fairway-finding.

IMHO, the number of wedges you carry between 50-60 degrees doesn't really signal anything about your abilities with those clubs. It says more about what kinds of shots you think you need with those longer clubs.

TSR3 (Dr) (Graphite Design Tour AD IZ-6)
TSR2 (3w / 7w) (Graphite Design Tour AD IZ-7)

zU85 (4-6) (UST Recoil)
Z-Forged (7-P) (Nippon Modus3)

SM6 50.F / 56.F / 60.S
Maltby PTM-5CS

> @agolf1 said:

> Interested to see if he keeps this setup for the year, as he's historically used 4 wedges. His 5-wood, 2-iron, 3-iron setup at the Players seemed strange as well. I'd think most of the time he'll have the 3 wood and then the choice is 5 wood or 2 iron, implying that the 3 iron or another wedge is the last decision.

>