What handicap would surprise you a self-taught beginner could attain in 1 year

**This is all in good fun, with a warm smile on my face and feelings of good will.**

Edit: What _score_ (easier to have witnessed than a whole handicap), in one year from today (Easter week 2020), would make a couple of my scoffers take notice?

When I say self-taught, I'm not taking lessons. I'd be allowed to post swing videos and ask for _free_ advice online.

Let's make a legal "wager" of sorts.

Either for

A. Me to eat some I Told You So's, or

B. You to have to Tip Your Hat and acknowledge I must be doing something right

When I say self-taught, I'm not taking lessons. I'd be allowed to post swing videos and as for other free advice online.

I'm a beginner. I took one all-day lesson in high school, I'm now 48, and never played in between.

It's only fair to admit I've done other things decently in a self-taught manner.

_But I'll have to do it on pitiful spare time after working full time and having family obligations._

Having realized it's not worth being on a friend's neighborhood course yet, I'm not even "playing" yet -- just going to the range (when I have time) and using aids at home like a net and a training aid I'm getting flamed for expressing my positive experience with. I don't have money for things like a professional indoor smart range, etc.

**Again, in a friendly, sporting spirit:**

---> If I have credible witnesses, what score would I have to make for my critics, one year from today (2020) to have to admit to themselves (if not the board and me) that I must have done something unusually, uncommonly right (the opposite of being foolish). ? (don't say something unfair like scratch golfer or par for the course)

An 18 handicap in one year perhaps?

Maybe one swing over par averaged out over 18 holes? So... 90 on a par 72, the day of the game?

Would that seem like something you wouldn't expect possible for a Swing Groove user (LOL) with no lessons ?