2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

No longer a "Player"

jjnorris2

I have been gaming the AP2s for about 4 years. My wife and I have recently had a baby and I do not play nearly as much as I would like. This past weekend I went on a golf trip to Pinehurst and to say I played terrible is an understatement. I am thinking of making a move to a more game improvement iron since my ball striking has not been great and will probably not get better any time soon. I have been looking at the Mizuno Hot Metal irons. Has anyone made a change like this and had improvement?

I’ve made a change like that and it killed my golf game... assuming we are talking about having kids.

Everyone does it differently, but mine are now 4 and 6 and I’m about a year back into playing golf. I tried to make it work after the first, and gave up after the second.

Personally, i regret nothing. I wish I had had more time in the day, but I’m glad I spent my free time with my kids. I finally have time again and I am dedicating it to golf...

Playing easier clubs with little practice time makes sense, though. Congratulations on the baby!

• Like 3

As of  10/11/2021

9 Callaway Mavrk Sub Zero with Ventus Black 7X

13 Degree Srixon 3 wood Project X Black 6.5

19 Degree Sub70 939 Pro with Proforce V2

4 Utility Sub70 699u 22 degree Proforce V2

5-GW Srixon Zx5 with Project X 6.5

Sub70 286 54

Sub70 JB Low Bounce 58

SeeMore milled Tri-Mallet fit and built at SeeMore 

I went opposite route after my son was born. I have a 2 and 7 year old. I still use players irons for the wonderful feeling that happens when you hit them well. My major adjustment was ignoring the scorecard and trying to focus on my routine. I play less now but enjoy it more as time to recharge so I can be present with my family.

• Like 2

If anything can go right, it might!

I considered getting SGI's when I had my baby. Thankfully I was still able to play a lot.