Jimmy Ballard

P.S. > @DonRSD said:

> Does anyone follow JB 100% with his teachings, or do most incorporate JB swing thoughts into their current swings?

I do all of his principles to the best of my understanding and ability.

I see this as a method, not a set of tips to pick and choose from. JB claims that anybody can do it. Anybody includes me. It is the most thought-out and clearly explained method that I have ever come across; nothing is left unanswered, or is ambiguous. I understand mechanical principles in depth, and there isn't a mechanical false note in anything that Ballard teaches. So, I figure, why not try to do the whole megillah? Why leave out pieces of the puzzle?

I have been working on my own on Ballard principles for over five years - going solo is not recommended if there is a Ballard instructor in the neighborhood. Fortunately I am tenacious and have an interest in detail. I don’t care what the method, golf is a brutally difficult game to play well. It takes a huge amount of study and hard work for mortals like me.

I am going to be 75 in a few days. I can do this swing. Before Ballard I used to be a 4. Now I am up to over 5. But not because of ball striking. My ball striking has never been as good. I could be scratch for the courses I play if the only thing that mattered was distance and direction off the tee. It’s my short game. Lack of focus. I really get excited about going to the range and trying new ways of doing the principles and seeing if I can take them to the course. I am out of balance. I know it. I’ll be putting more focus on my short game early next week. I think. Maybe... In the meantime, I have an early tee time tomorrow and can’t wait. I want to shoot my age one more time before the odometer ticks over. Tomorrow could be the day! ;-)