2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Hogan redline iron help

Jgb333

I just picked up a set of what appears to be Hogan Redlines 3-E. I am not a hogan expert so I came here looking for some help!

They are free of any stamping other than “apex” and “Ben Hogan”. The shafts are pinned, and the serials match. The 8,9 and wedge have more of a curved top line than the 3-7. Shafts are labeled “3”. I’ve included pictures of just the 7 iron.

Driver: Cobra King F8 Nardo 
5w: Cobra King F8 5-6 Nardo
Hybrid: Cobra King F7 4-5
Irons: Ping G 6-UW

Wedge: TaylorMade milled grind 56
Putter: Cleveland Classic #7

That’s a redline to my eye. Ferrules match my set, hosel pins are a check, mine are apex 4 but apex 3 is just regular flex, no “forged” from the later years (90-92?) They seem to be what they are. And I think the weird top line on the short irons is just a quirk of the set.

I’d compare photos of mine, but mine live in a box, and that box lives 7,000 miles away!

Have you tried them out?

That’s a redline to my eye. Ferrules match my set, hosel pins are a check, mine are apex 4 but apex 3 is just regular flex, no “forged” from the later years (90-92?) They seem to be what they are. And I think the weird top line on the short irons is just a quirk of the set.

I’d compare photos of mine, but mine live in a box, and that box lives 7,000 miles away!

Have you tried them out?

I live in the northeast so it’s a little cold out...but I did set up my hitting net in the front yard. I took 4 or 5 rips before my hands froze. The feel great.

This had to close to the time they stopped using pins.

I paid $50 for the set...too much?

There is hardly any groove wear

Driver: Cobra King F8 Nardo 
5w: Cobra King F8 5-6 Nardo
Hybrid: Cobra King F7 4-5
Irons: Ping G 6-UW

Wedge: TaylorMade milled grind 56
Putter: Cleveland Classic #7

Have you tried them out?