Won the golf lottery...Never broken 85 but just shot 74 @ Oak Quarry

USCdrifter

Here's a little background to the story:

I'm a 13.7 handicap or was before this round. I've shot an 84 once on a short course and an 80 once on my home course both over 1 year ago. I've never broken 85 on, what I would consider, a full, challenging course. I typically shoot around an 88 to low 90s average for the last 6 months or so. I've been grinding on my short game for the last 1-2 years trying to teach myself chipping and putting. I've shot a 5 over a few times over 9 holes but always screw it up somewhere with some doubles or more. There have been plenty of times where I think I've got it figured out only to be struck down by the golf gods.

I shot 2 over on the front 9 and didn't see my first double till hole 13. I actually completely shanked an approach 6 iron to the right and shanked the proceeding chip in to the rough. My buddies thought this was where I would unravel. I got up and down from there and proceeded to birdie the next 2 holes. I almost never get a birdie on the card and all of a sudden my buddies, who were obviously losing every bet against me, started rooting for me to keep it together. Closed up the round by getting up and down from off the green and 1 putt for par.

The best part is that my buddies have been giving me crap for not taking expensive lessons with them. I've been telling them I can feel it now and that its been coming together for quite a while now even though my scores have still averaged high 80s. This round it all finally came together and I got to rub my sh*t grin all up in their face. I've been grinding and I own this swing. I now have my Al bundy story to reminisce on for eternity on one of the best tracks in so cal. Im trying not to look into the future when I shoot 90 again or maybe, just maybe, I've popped my cherry and I've just begun my quest to single digits.