Hitting at an indoor simulator?

I am just getting started playing golf. I have played about 6-7 rounds now and started about 2 months ago. I have been making good progress on my swing and have played what I feel like is ahead of the curve, even played 18 holes of match play against a friend who has been playing for two years now and managed to win 4 holes and tie 5 of them. I have been trying to make a real determination of my length with all my clubs though, as it's hard for me to tell the exact distance I'm hitting on the outdoor range. There is a local golf shop that has a very nice indoor simulator that I was at first intimidated by due to my inability to hit the ball every time, but at this point I feel pretty good about my contact and just want to figure out my gapping between all my clubs in my bag I have pieced together from eBay purchases. Is that something I can just call ahead for like I'm making a tee time and pay an hourly fee to use their screen hitting bay? Or is that frowned upon since I haven't bought any clubs from them? I have used their outdoor range in the past but never bought anything other than range balls since all my clubs so far have been used.

Please let me know what I should do here! Also, if I get to hit in front of the sim, is there anything I should try to work on or look for? Thanks in advance!

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

Just call them and ask, thats the easiest way. There are some places where it is an indoor simulator where you can play a course and it shows you the hole and you play it "mostly" like you would outside or there are places where they hit into the screen and it tracks your shot based upon a fixed target and gives you distance and numbers.

it sounds to me like you are looking for the one with a fixed target that gives you distance and numbers, just ask if they have something that can help you with that