Should your junior golfer have a social media presence on Instagram / FB / Twitter?

I guess some topics to discuss in no matter of importance:

* At what age did you / should you have them engaged online?

* What content are you posting?

* Reasons for or against having a social media account.

* How do you use this in recruiting?

* Pitfalls to avoid

* Do you go private or public and does this change at a certain age?

* Why are you, as a parent, posting these on behalf of your under 13 year old?

There are probably a lot more scenarios to discuss so I'd expect this to conversation to expand past my pea brain thoughts.

There's definitely something more important that I should be doing.

I have no experience with a child that age yet. But i would think that absolutely they should. The age I would want to make public IMO would be around 15-16 if they are ranked in anything(i dont' see the benefit much younger than this because they aren't needing to be recruited prior). Just like with any professional they would need to have someone screen what they post and have serrious conversations around that.

> @bradski said:

> I have no experience with a child that age yet. But i would think that absolutely they should. The age I would want to make public IMO would be around 15-16 if they are ranked in anything(i dont' see the benefit much younger than this because they aren't needing to be recruited prior). Just like with any professional they would need to have someone screen what they post and have serrious conversations around that.

Good point about screening for kids that are posting on their own. Parents, are you proactively screening or being reactive to posts that have already gone up? I assume all parents would have push alerts set up for their own kids.