Private Cart Trail Fee at a Semi-Private Course?

Ok, I'll make it quick. I recently moved to a golf course community with one of my favorite courses in the area. The course is semi-private or public, however you want to deem it, but not a muni. Decided to get my own private cart to of course drive on the course as well as drive around the neighborhood, to the pool, etc. As it turns it, the course charges a $500 trail fee each year in addition to the membership. The kicker is, they do no sell a membership that does not include cart fee. They don't even have greens fees that don't include a cart. Am I justified in being baffled by this practice? I understand a private course charging a trail fee when they sell walking memberships with cart add-ons, but I believe you end up paying less than if you bought the cart pass from them and used their carts. As it stands, I'm a resident of the golf course community and I'll be paying MORE to use MY cart than when I lived 10 mins away and used their carts. Thoughts? Similar situations?

Callaway Paradym 9*
TaylorMade SiM Max Rocket 14*

Srixon ZX 2 hybrid 16* and 4 hybrid 22*
Srixon ZX7 MKII 5-PW
Cleveland RTX ZipCore6 50, 54, 58
Evnroll EV5.1 with Stability Tour Black
Titleist ProV1X
Bushnell Pro XE Rangefinder | Garmin Approach S70 Watch