So I hit it perfectly but it doesn't go straight..

austinsmithon

SO... Okay obviously I'm being a little facetious. I am no pro. I know I'm not the greatest ball striker. And it doesn't help that I refuse to use anything but blades (I mainly play by myself so it more for enjoyment).

HOOOOOOWEVER! Something has been nagging me. I seem to be able to hit the proper sweet spot on fairly regular basis. At least enough to know what what it feels like. With good compression. Striking the ball first. etc etc.

The issue is even if I have a great "strike" the ball doesn't always go straight. Can anyone confirm is this just face open/closed and pathing right? Is there anything else it could be? - I should add when this specifically is an issue it is usually a hook. There is the occasional slice. Also my main concern is with my irons-

Additional question. Any tips and/or drills you guys have to help with reining in that consistency?

Thanks!

Edit. Added a video. Nit picking welcomed. As some have pointed out my knowledge base isn't there I might wrong about everything. The biggest problem I see is my right leg extension (I like the first swing better tho) .

Depending on your skill level, it might be helpful to you if you learn how to purposely hit hooks/draws/fades/slices. Start with the mid iron and half swings on the range. To make the ball curve left, you need to make it spin counterclockwise horizontally (and likewise a clockwise spin will make it curve right).

If you have the feeling down for how to purposely make the ball curve both ways, it is easier to hit it straight since you know how to make adjustments to the ball flight.

> @cadoipi said:

> Depending on your skill level, it might be helpful to you if you learn how to purposely hit hooks/draws/fades/slices. Start with the mid iron and half swings on the range. To make the ball curve left, you need to make it spin counterclockwise horizontally (and likewise a clockwise spin will make it curve right).

>