When did it click for you

billbring

Hi, this is my first post here, just thought I'd tell my golfing story and see how it compares to others.

I've been playing for around 20 years on a very casual basis, probably averaging about 15-20 rounds a year. I started when I was 16 with no lessons, just going out there and playing. After a year or so I reached a level where I would shoot anywhere between 90-110 and stayed there for about 10 years, making some decent shots and some pretty bad ones, with no real pattern to my game. I then started thinking about improving my game and had some lessons, I went with several different local pros at different clubs, but was never really satisfied with the advice they were giving. I didn't make any tangible progress and non of them gave me a great deal of confidence in their teaching ability.

Finally, one pointed out that I played with a very strong grip and refused to give me any further lessons until I made it more neutral. I set about making the change, spending hours in my living room hitting practice balls against the curtain, but it just ended in complete frustration, I simply lost the ability to hit anything at all, everything I tried was uncomfortable and I just couldn't play any more. Even trying to go back to my strong grip but I ultimately lost all confidence in my game and gave up playing.

Now, 5 years on from that, I am playing again, and remarkably I feel comfortable with a neutral grip. My scoring hasn't improved, but I occasionally play shots now that look and feel like proper golf shots, they are just few and far between. I think to an extent, that pro was right and I'm glad I have changed my grip, it was just a lot more painful to get there than I ever imagined.