Country Club Questions

Hey all - I am looking to join a local club very soon. I have visited 5 and have it narrowed down to 2-3. In my area there are a ton of choices (i think approx. 24), but proximity is always a major factor and the next being up front cost/exclusivity; so I already have that pretty much figured out.

Being as this is my first time joining a country club, is there anything I should look into that is not apparent on the fees and dues list?

Biggest factor is the course, but getting an idea of the members would be nice too since that's who I hope to start getting some regular games in with. Not sure the best way to do this other than multiple visits?

I am in the St. Louis area, if anyone here has any insight, I would appreciate it!

Yes, the course is essential but to BOD's, the club culture is what makes a club a great place. Make sure to ask about playing with some active members and or board members that will help you get to know others. Additionally, ask for a copy of the clubs charter or rules and read it before signing. Plus, most clubs that have a pro-active membership committee have a few members that help out with new members getting acclimated but don't go at it expecting them to hold your hand. Being a joiner in tournaments even leadership roles play a key part in making the club your happy place. FYI: I been on the BOD of two equity clubs, plus held membership and finance committee roles, plus low-index and Interclub team player. Good Luck.

• TSR2 10° Ventus Velo TR Blue 58S
  • TSR2 15° Talamonti PD80R
  • T200 17' 2i Tensei AV Raw White Hybrid 95S
  • T100 3i & 4i MMT 85S
  • T100 5i to 9i MMT 105S
  • T100 PW, SM9 F52/12, M58/8, PX Wedge 120S
  • SC/CA Monterey
  • DASH -ProV1x

You won't regret it if you do your due diligence. A couple things come to mind and you probably have some of the below already covered.

1. inquire about assessments and when they had their last and for how much.